Ignore Spam Email From John of Ygnetworkltd


I received a strange email a few days ago from a man named John. He told me

Dear Manager,

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.

On September 19th 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd’s application that they are registering the name “davidxia” as their Internet Keyword and “davidxia.cn”、”davidxia.com.cn” 、”davidxia.asia “domain names etc.., It is China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: 86 216191 8696
Mobile: 86 136615 29704
Fax: 86 216191 8697
Web: www.ygnetworkltd.com

At first I was a bit concerned. Then I Googled and found out that this was a common spam email. And to think I almost responded

Hi John,

I’m the trademark holder of “davidxia” and I would like to protect my trademark. Please inform Tianhua that I object to their application of “davidxia” as their internet keyword.